Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content

Late Opening on Wednesday, January 28

In the aftermath of the winter storm, the University of Hartford will open on Wednesday at 10 a.m. Classes will begin at 10:30 a.m.   snow closing guide

Until that time, the Commons, Subway, and Village Market will maintain regular hours for residential dining services and the Sports Center will be open normal hours for use by residential students only. Gengras Student Union and University Libraries remain closed until the University reopens Wednesday at 10 a.m. 

current as of 6:20 p.m., Jan. 27, 2015

Ingrid Russell


Computer Science Department

Dana Hall 343


Personal Website

MPhil   Yale University   |   MS   Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute  |   BA   American University of Beirut

Ingrid Russell is Professor of Computer Science at the University of Hartford. She served as an Associate Dean in the College of Arts and Sciences between 1995 and 1998. Her research interests are in the areas of machine learning, data and web mining, pattern recognition, and computer science education. Her work has been funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), NASA, and the Connecticut Space Grant Consortium. Currently, she is working on project MLeXAI, funded by an NSF grant. Russell has worked in several consulting capacities including software development, research and development, and educational consulting. Russell has published several journal and conference papers. She serves as an associate editor of the International Journal on Artificial Intelligence Tools, is a member of the editorial board of the International Journal of Intelligent Systems, and has served in editorial capacities for several conference proceedings and journal special issues. In 2006, Russell was among 15 “CRA-W Distinguished Professors”, named by the Computing Research Association's Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W). She was a finalist for the 2006 Women of Innovation award in the Academic Innovation and Leadership category, sponsored by the Connecticut Technology Council. She is the recipient of a Yale Prize Teaching Fellowship, a NASA Fellowship, and a CCSCNE Service Award. Russell has served on several NSF review panels and on advisory boards of NSF-funded projects. In addition, she has done extensive work in the area of computer science education and curriculum. She served as chair of the "Intelligent Systems Focus Group" and as a member of the "Computing Core Focus Group" of the IEEE-CS/ACM Task Force on Computing Curricula 2001. Russell has served on the boards of several computing organizations. She served on the Board of Directors of the Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Computer Science Education, as Vice President of the Florida Artificial Intelligence Research Society, and as President of the Consortium for Computing Sciences in Colleges. She is a member of AAAI, FLAIRS, ACM/SIGCSE, IEEE Computer Society, and the Consortium for Computing Sciences in Colleges (CCSC). She is a founding member and first president of the Northeastern region of CCSC and since its founding has served as a member of its board of directors.