More than 260 Graduate from UHart’s College of Arts and Sciences
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

More than 260 Graduate from UHart’s College of Arts and Sciences

As a college-educated person, you have an obligation to use your education to make the world a better place. A safer place. A place where all human beings can thrive,” said Katherine A. Black, Dean of the University of Hartford’s College of Arts and Sciences, in her address to graduates during the College’s 2018 commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 20. “I want you to remember that you now have a very serious responsibility,” she said, as she encouraged the students to not just notice, but to speak up when they see someone treated badly, or an injustice. 

At the Arts and Sciences and University Commencement Ceremonies, Dean Black took a moment to recognize this year's Outstanding Faculty Award winners, Associate Professor of English Donald C. Jones, Professor of Psychology Anne Pidano, and Associate Professor of Psychology Natasha Segool. In addition, she congratulated Yoninia Bykov '18 and Catherine Gleason '18 for receiving the Senior Regents' Honor Awards.

Dean Black also acknowledged awards presented at the main Commencement ceremony to an exceptional student and two outstanding faculty members:

Yonatan Shavit ‘18, Mathematics

Marion A. Bills Memorial Endowed SCHOLARSHIP

Yonatan Shavit ‘18, MathematicsYonatan is the 2018 recipient of the Marion A. Bills Memorial Endowed Scholarship that supports two years of graduate study at the prestigious University of Oxford in Oxford, England.

“Shavit is one of the most gifted and mathematically advanced undergraduate students that I have encountered in 30 years of teaching,” says Professor of Mathematics Robert Decker. 

Yonatan has a passion for several other fields of mathematics, including geometry, number theory, and logic. It was his interest in nonlinear partial differential equations that led to a research project with Professor Decker. Yonatan and his classmates presented their findings at the Hudson River Undergraduate Research Conference and Decker praised him for taking advanced concepts and presenting them to an audience. That ability to simplify complex ideas helped him in his role as a math tutor and during math club meetings, when he would often solve the puzzles and explain the solutions to the other members.

Through the Marion A. Bills Scholarship, Yonatan will pursue a graduate degree in mathematics at the University of Oxford. He then plans to earn a PhD and go on to a career in academia or in an industry fundamentally connected to mathematics, such as cryptography.

Caryn Christensen, Associate Professor of Psychology and Associate Dean

Donald W. Davis, All-University Curriculum Award

Caryn Christensen is the 2018 recipient of the Donald W. Davis All-University Curriculum Award that recognizes effective interdisciplinary teaching, as well as the overall contributions to the University Interdisciplinary Studies (UIS) program.  

Yingcui Li, Assistant Professor of Biology

Belle K. Ribicoff Junior Faculty Prize

Yingcui Li, Assistant Professor of BiologyYingcui Li is the 2018 recipient of the Belle K. Ribicoff Junior Faculty Prize that recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member—an assistant professor in a tenure-track position, but not yet tenured—who demonstrates combined excellence in teaching, scholarly or creative activity, and service.  

Read more about our faculty award recipients.