Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Past Presidents


Walter L. Harrison


As the University’s fifth president, Walter Harrison served with distinction for two decades. Under his leadership, the University experienced a period of energy and vitality unmatched in its history.  Read more.


Humphrey R. Tonkin

Humphrey Tonkin strengthened the University of Hartford’s ties to the community, elevated the quality of academic programs, and broadened the institution’s geographic reach throughout the country and the world.


Stephen J. Trachtenberg

During his 11 years as president, Stephen Trachtenberg raised the University’s profile, shifting our sports programs from NCAA Division II to NCAA Division I. His most ambitious building project was the University Center, now known as the Harry Jack Gray Center.



Archibald M. Woodruff

In addition to new buildings and programs, President Woodruff’s enduring legacy was the consolidation of the University to a single location with comprehensive facilities that drew students from throughout the New England region.


Vincent B. Coffin

The University of Hartford’s first president (then deemed chancellor; the title was changed to president in 1970), Vincent B. Coffin, was a well-known insurance executive. During his tenure, the University opened its first residence halls, and began a trajectory of growth and expansion that would span decades.