Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Quick Facts

Chartered: 1957

President: Walter Harrison (fifth president, began in 1998)

Location: Main campus in Hartford, West Hartford, and Bloomfield, Conn.
Mailing Address: 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117-1599


Type: independent, nonsectarian, coeducational

School Colors: scarlet and white

Main Campus: 350 acres (Hartford 193, Bloomfield 133, West Hartford 24) 

Asylum Avenue Campus: 10.4 acres

Handel Center Campus: 7 acres

Full–time Undergraduates: 4,521

Part–time Undergraduates: 534

Total Undergraduates: 5,055

Graduate Students: 1,566 (878 Part-Time)

Total/All Students: 6,621

Degrees Awarded (2014-15 academic year): 1,772
59 certificate, 149 associate's, 1016 bachelor's, 468 master's, 80 doctoral 

States Represented: 46

Countries Represented: 61

Undergraduate Majors: 96

Graduate-Level Degree Programs: 62

Tuition: $33,740

Room and Board: $11,638

Total/Fees Included: $48,098

Full–time Faculty: 354

Part-time Faculty: 498

Student–Faculty Ratio: 9:1

Full–time Faculty Holding Terminal Degrees in Their Fields: 81%

Minority Representation/Undergraduates #: 38% 

Minority Representation/Graduate Students #: 22%

Gender Breakdown/Undergraduate Students: 50.4% female

Gender Breakdown/Graduate Students: 54.9% female

Schools of the University

  • Barney School of Business
  • College of Arts and Sciences 
  • College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions  
  • College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture 
  • Hartford Art School 
  • The Hartt School 
  • Hillyer College 

Full–time Undergraduate Student Facts

44% from Connecticut

7% international students

15% African American

12% Hispanic

4% Asian 

Semester system (September–December and January–May) with Summerterm (May–July and July–August) and Winterterm (January) offerings


Level: Division I

Nickname: Hartford Hawks

Mascot: Howie the Hawk

Conference: America East (with Albany; Binghamton; Maine; Maryland, Baltimore County; New Hampshire; Stony Brook; UMass Lowell; Vermont)

Intercollegiate Sports: 18 (9 men’s, 9 women’s)

Home Soccer/Lacrosse Facility: Yousuf Al-Marzook Field at Alumni Stadium (capacity–2,500)

Home Basketball Arena: Chase Family Arena in Reich Family Pavilion (capacity, 3,508)

Home Baseball Field: Fiondella Field (capacity, 1,000), Softball Field (capacity, 1,000)

Living Alumni: 85,512

Total Alumni: 94,567

Alums in Connecticut: 42%

Notable Alumni:

  • Don Allan, Senior Vice President and CFO, Stanley, Black and Decker
  • Jeff Bagwell, former professional baseball All-Star for the Houston Astros
  • Vin Baker, former professional basketball All-Star
  • Thomas O. Barnes, Sr., Chair, Barnes Group Foundation
  • Kathy Behrens, President of Social Responsibility and Player Programs for the National Basketball Association
  • Richard Booth, Retired Chairman, President, and CEO, Hartford Steam Boiler
  • Leonard Boyle, Director of the Terrorist Screening Center for the FBI
  • Richard Cardin, Retired Head of Corporate Human Relations, UPS
  • Tina Chen, Stage, Film and Television Actress, Director, and Producer
  • David Cordani, President and CEO, Cigna
  • Jeff Goffman, Chairman and CEO, Integrated Oncology Network
  • June Ressler Coldren, Founder and President of Cenergy International Services, a woman-owned, global provider of specialized personnel for the oil and gas industry
  • Javier Colon, Universal Republic Records singer and songwriter who won NBC’s reality singing competition The Voice
  • Stephen Dalyai, president and CEO of Quindar Electronics, Inc., credited with the introduction of the first transistor voice frequency, audio-tone telemetry products for electronic network monitoring and control
  • The Honorable John Danaher, Connecticut Superior Court Judge and former Commissioner of the State of Connecticut Department of Public Safety
  • Christine Dwyer, Broadway actress who played Elphaba in the musical Wicked
  • Robert Forrester, Chairman and CEO of Newman’s Own, Inc. and Newman’s Own Foundation
  • Joxel Garcia, past President and Dean, Ponce Medical School
  • Brett Gerstenblatt, Enterprise Creative Director for CVS Corporation, responsible for an unprecedented, purpose-driven campaign that ended the sale of cigarettes and other tobacco products at all of its stores
  • Allyn Golub, Vice President of Clinical and Technical Affairs, Key Pharmaceuticals
  • Katherine Hammack, Assistant Secretary of the Army (Installations, Energy, and Environment), U.S. Department of Defense
  • Francis "Frank" X. Hursey, President and Founder of On Site Gas Systems, Co-Founder of Z-Medica, and inventor of QuikClot
  • Marin Ireland, film, stage, and television actress who won the 2009 Theatre World Award and was nominated for a 2009 Tony Award for Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Play for her performance in Reasons to be Pretty
  • Jerry Kelly, current professional golfer on the PGA tour
  • Valerie Lewis, Retired Commissioner of Higher Education, State of Connecticut 
  • Mia Love, U.S. House of Representatives, representing Utah’s 4th House District
  • Kent McCray, television industry pioneer, produced numerous successful series for television and film
  • Michael Mongillo, award-winning film director and screen writer
  • Richard Neal, U.S. House of Representatives, representing Massachusetts’ 1st House District
  • Sean Newcomb, professional baseball player in the Los Angeles Angels system, 2014 first-round Major League Baseball draft pick 
  • Jerry Orefice, President, JA Orefice and Company
  • Chuck Pagano, former Executive Vice President of Technology and Chief Technology Officer, ESPN
  • Nancy Bergman Pantierer, Visual Artist
  • Anne Parthiot-Mons, President, Permal Group SAS
  • Jackalyne Pfannenstiel, Former Assistant Secretary of the Navy, Energy, Installations and Environment, U.S. Department of the Navy
  • David Pritikin, Emmy-Award winning producer of high-profile reality TV shows, including Deadliest Catch,Sarah Palin’s Alaska and Survivor
  • Shane Shanahan, renowned percussionist and original member of Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble
  • Deverell Smith, Director of Architecture for Tiffany’s
  • Ruth Smith, Executive Vice President, National Life Group
  • Evaristo Stanziale, Founding Partner and Senior VP, SCS Commodities
  • Timothy Stella, musician, musical director, and associate conductor of Broadway’s Phantom of the Opera
  • Jack Swigert, Jr., former NASA astronaut and Congressman-Elect
  • Dionne Warwick, Grammy-Award winning singer, actress and television show host
  • Jeffrey Wolf, Partner and internationally recognized franchise law attorney at Quarles & Brady

    #U.S. citizens only

    next full update, December 19, 2016