Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Religious Observance Calendar 2016-2017

Policy regarding religious holidays.
Classes are held. Students observing these days will be granted excused absences from all classes and an opportunity to make up any tests or exams given on these days.

FALL 2016

September

Eid-al-AdahBegins sundown Friday1
Note: This Muslim holy day begins sundown Friday, September 1, and continues until darkness Sunday, September 3. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon. Therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.

october

Rosh Hashanah Begins sundown Wednesday20
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Wednesday, September 20, and continues until darkness Friday, September 22.
Yom KippurBegins sundown Friday29
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Friday, September 29, and continues through darkness Sunday, October 1.

Spring 2017

march

Ash WednesdayWednesday14
Note: A Student’s class may conflict with the scheduled on-campus Mass.

April

Good FridayFriday30
PassoverBegins sundown Friday30
Note: The first two days of this holiday are celebrated from sundown Friday, March 30, until darkness Sunday, April 1, and the last two days of the holiday are celebrated sundown Thursday, April 5, until darkness Saturday, April 7.

May

RamadanBegins sundown Tuesday15
Note: The first day of the Muslim fasting month begins sundown on Tuesday, May 15, and continues until darkness Thursday, June 14. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon. Therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.
ShavuotBegins sundown Saturday19
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Saturday, May 19, and continues until darkness Monday, May 21.

june

Eid-al-FitrBegins sundown Thursday14
Note: This Muslim holy day begins sundown Thursday, June 14, and continues until darkness Saturday, June 16. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon. Therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.