Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Religious Observance Calendar 2016-2017

Policy regarding religious holidays.
Classes are held. Students observing these days will be granted excused absences from all classes and an opportunity to make up any tests or exams given on these days.

FALL 2016

September

Eid-al-AdahBegins sundown Monday12
Note: This Muslim holy day begins sundown Monday, September 12, and continues until darkness Wednesday, September 14. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon. Therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.

october

Rosh Hashanah Begins sundown Sunday2
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Sunday, October 2, and continues until darkness Tuesday, October 4.
Yom KippurBegins sundown Tuesday11
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Tuesday, October 11, and continues through darkness Thursday, October 13.
Sukkot Begins sundown Sunday16
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Sunday, October 16, and continues through darkness Tuesday, October 18.
Shmini AtzeretBegins sundown Sunday23
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Sunday, October 23, and continues through darkness Tuesday, October 25.

Spring 2017

march

Ash WednesdayWednesday1
Note: A Student’s class may conflict with the scheduled on-campus Mass.

April

PassoverBegins sundown Monday 10
Note: The first two days of this holiday are celebrated from sundown Monday, April 10, until darkness Wednesday, April 12, and the last two days of the holiday are celebrated sundown Sunday, April 16, until darkness Tuesday, April 18.
Good FridayFriday14

May

RamadanBegins sundown Friday 26
Note: The first day of the Muslim fasting month begins sundown on Friday, May 26, and continues until darkness Sunday, June 25. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon. Therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.
ShavuotBegins sundown Tuesday30
Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Tuesday, May 30, and continues until darkness Thursday, June 1.

june

Eid-al-FitrBegins sundown Sunday25
Note: This Muslim holy day begins sundown Sunday, June 25, and continues until darkness Tuesday, June 27. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon. Therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.