Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Top Navigation UNotes Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content

Monday, January 26

A blizzard warning goes into effect for our area this evening and Connecticut has issued a statewide travel ban starting at 9 p.m. The University is now closed as of 3 p.m. today and will be closed all day tomorrow, Tuesday, Jan. 27.  Day and evening classes are canceled through tomorrow. An updated advisory on the status of classes and operations for Wednesday will be posted Tuesday evening. During the time that the University is closed, the Commons, Subway, and Village Market will maintain regular hours for residential dining services and the Sports Center will be open for use by residential students only. Gengras Student Union and University Libraries will be closed.   snow closing guide

All Hartt Community Division activities through tomorrow are canceled.

current as of 3:05 p.m., Jan. 26, 2015

Bookmark and Share

Author Kenneth Bonert to Receive Greenberg Center's Wallant Award and Give Talk on Thursday

Posted 04/23/2014
Submitted by David Isgur
Category: Campus Announcements

Kenneth Bonert
Kenneth Bonert

The cover of Bonert's acclaimed novel, "The Lion Seeker."
The cover of Bonert's acclaimed novel, "The Lion Seeker."

The University’s Maurice Greenberg Center for Judaic Studies has named author Kenneth Bonert the 2013 Edward Lewis Wallant Award winner for his outstanding novel, The Lion Seeker (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013).

The award presentation ceremony, which will include a talk by Bonert and comments from the Wallant Award judges, will be held on Thursday, April 24, at 7 p.m. in Wilde Auditorium.

Admission to the Wallant Award presentation ceremony is free and open to the public, but reservations are required. Please call 860.768.4964 or email to make a reservation for the event.

Kenneth Bonert’s short stories have appeared in Grain and Fiddlehead. His story “Packers and Movers” was shortlisted for the Journey Prize and his novella “Peacekeepers, 1995” appeared in McSweeney’s. A one-time journalist, his articles have appeared in The Globe and Mail, the National Post and other publications. Born in South Africa, he now calls Toronto home.

The Lion Seeker, which is Bonert’s first novel, tells the coming-of-age story of ill-fated Isaac Helger, a high school dropout striving to make a success of himself in the inner-city Johannesburg neighborhood of Doornfontein. Isaac is motivated by the desire to purchase a proper home for his mother, Gitelle, who immigrated to South Africa after being scarred during a pogrom in the family’s native Lithuania. Isaac confronts one challenge after another in his quest for redemption as the growing threat of the Second World War darkens Isaac’s world and threatens his extended family. In the novel, Bonert succeeds in bringing to life the world of South African Jewry in all its raw energy, with an ear for dialogue that captures the bawdy vernacular of South Africa’s diverse population.

Reviewers have unanimously praised the novel, which was also named recipient of a National Jewish Book Award for Outstanding Debut Fiction.

As a Wallant Award winner, Bonert joins a distinguished list of past award recipients, including Cynthia Ozick, Curt Leviant, Chaim Potok, Myla Goldberg, Dara Horn, Nicole Krauss, and Julie Orringer as well as last year’s award winner, Joshua Henkin. Established 51 years ago, in 1963, by Dr. and Mrs. Irving Waltman of West Hartford to honor the memory of the late Edward Lewis Wallant, author of The Pawnbroker and other works of fiction, the Wallant Award today is one of the oldest and most prestigious Jewish literary awards in the United States. It is presented to an American Jewish writer, preferably unrecognized, whose published work of fiction is deemed to have significance for the American Jew.

The Greenberg Center will mark the 50th anniversary of the Edward Lewis Wallant Award with the publication of a Wallant Award anthology of past winners and finalists, titled The New Diaspora: The Changing Landscape of American Jewish Fiction, edited by Victoria Aarons (Trinity University), Mark Shechner (University at Buffalo) and Avinoam Patt (University of Hartford).

The New Diaspora, to be published by Wayne State University Press, brings together under one cover a representative group of those writers whose work has either won or been considered for the award. In recognition of the trajectory and development of American Jewish writing in the 50 years since the award was established, the volume reflects the breadth and ongoing vitality of the fiction written by and about Jews in America.

For more information, contact Susan Gottlieb at the Greenberg Center, at 860.768.4964 or For more information on the Edward Lewis Wallant Award, please visit the Greenberg Center website.

Kenneth Bonert
Kenneth Bonert

The cover of Bonert's acclaimed novel, "The Lion Seeker."
The cover of Bonert's acclaimed novel, "The Lion Seeker."