Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content

Donn Weinholtz Receives Trachtenberg Award for Sustained Service to the University

Donn WeinholtzDonn Weinholtz, professor of educational leadership in the College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions, (ENHP), is the 2013 recipient of the Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Award for Sustained Service to the University. Weinholtz, who is a former dean of ENHP, has provided exceptional service to his department, his college, the University, and the community over more than two decades. A former chair of the Faculty Senate, Weinholtz currently serves on the Senate (third term), the Graduate Council, the Regents' Advancement Committee, and the Athletics Council. Previously, he co-chaired the committee that established the University of Hartford Magnet School, and he helped create the Hartford Urban Education Network and the Connecticut Alliance of Concerned Educators.

As dean, Weinholtz helped increase ENHP's enrollment from 660 to 1,560 students. He also assumed responsibility for the Educational Main Street program, doubling its size. As department chair, he oversaw the evolution of the Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership from a K-12 program to a higher-education program while expanding enrollment.