Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search



The Georgette and Richard Koopman Distinguished Chair Exhibition

Jan 17 - Feb 14 | Joseloff Gallery


January 17-Feburary 14, 2017

Koopman Reception
Thursday, January 26, 2017 5-8 p.m.
Joseloff Gallery

jamie isenstein | michael e. smith

"Isenstein's performances become more like sculptures that last indefinitely. Isenstein hopes to ask questions about what a sculpture or performance an be and what is the nature of an artist's relationship to their work as it lasts beyond them."

"Michael E. Smith's sculptures stirp everyday objects down to their most minimal state...they bear with them the accumulated traces of human experience, evoking simultaneously their future and their loss.

The Georgette and Richard Koopman Distinguished Chair in the Visual Arts is an annual appointment for visiting teaching artists that rotates through each studio discipline at the Hartford Art School. For the 2016-17 academic year it will reside in the Sculpture Department.

oldwork Opening Reception

and Community Celebration

Jan 26 | 5PM-7PM | Joseloff Gallery

oldwork Opening Reception

The Georgette and Richard Koopman Distinguished Chair Exhibition Opening Reception

Thursday, January 26, 2017
5-7 p.m.
Joseloff Gallery

Community celebration and dinner to follow in honor of the 2016-17 Koopman Chairs Jamie Isenstein and Michael E. Smith.

7 p.m. at 1877 Club
Buffet dinner and cash bar
$25 per person, $10 HAS faculty, staff, and students (reservations are required)
Sponsor a student with a $10 gift. RSVP by January 19 to HASEInc@hartford.edu or 860-768-5281.

The exhibition and related programming are made possible in part through the Georgette and Richard Koopman Distinguished Chair in the Visual Arts Fund, part of the Hartford Art School Endowment.

Scholastics Exhibition Awards Reception

Jan 29 | 2PM-3PM | Lincoln Theater

Scholastics Exhibition Awards Reception

January 29, 2017
2-3 p.m.
Lincoln Theater
University of Hartford

About Scholastics:

The Connecticut Regional Scholastic Art Awards Program is a non-profit, all volunteer activity which is sponsored by the Connecticut Art Education Association - your professional art educators organization.

The Connecticut Regional Scholastic Awards program is Arts Education based and as such, recognizes teachers as the central connection to the completion of successful student submissions. This program is a high quality level, professionally juried event which recognizes only the best CT student art work. All CT art students in public, parochial and private schools are encouraged to participate and submit high quality art work. Additionally, home schooled, private art schooled and independent entry students should work with their art teachers in order to gain the best advice in completing the required submissions process. In all cases, each CT student entrant should seek the best advice and counsel of his/her art instructors when choosing to submit an art work. CT teachers should submit up to 5 student works for the basic registration fee. Teachers can also submit an 5 additional individual category works and portfolios for extra fees. Please refer to the CT Guidelines and the CT Scholastic Art Awards Invoice for provided by the Connecticut Art Education Association for all details and information. All forms can either be downloaded here or can be downloaded from the CÆA website.

Student artwork is juried by professional artists and university art faculty and is selected on merit for inclusion in a state-wide art exhibition held at the Hartford Art School. Beyond the honor of being selected for this high quality exhibit, students may be awarded Gold or Silver keys and Honorable Mention Awards in each of 17 media categories.

For additional Information about the CT Regional Scholastic Art Awards and The Connecticut Art Education Association please go to www.caea.net.

Guest Lecturer

Karen Von Veh

Feb 8 | 7:30 p.m. | East Hall 220

Guest Lecturer

Karen Von Veh, art historian from the University of Johannesburg, will visit my class on Contemporary Women Artists on the evening of February 8 to tell us about The Aftermath of Apartheid in South African Art. Despite having one of the best constitutions in the world, social ills persist in South Africa as the legacy of past injustices. Contemporary artists, in turn, resist and protest through printmaking, comics, sculpture and painting, often using Christian imagery in allegories that reveal the country’s troubling social and political circumstances. Von Veh will feature artist Diane Victor, known for her illustrations, drawn with smoke on glass, of atrocities inflicted on women.

Please come and join us for this special event.

Artist Talk

Jamie Isenstein & Michael E. Smith

Feb 10 | 6-7p.m. | Joseloff Gallery

Artist Talk

Jamie Isenstein and Michael E. Smith will be giving an informal talk about their work in oldwork, the 2017 Georgette and Richard Koopman Distinguished Chair Exhibition.

The artist talk will take place on Friday, February 10th, from 6-7pm in the Joseloff Gallery. Please attend this incredible opportunity to hear Jamie and Michael speak about their work.