Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search


Dean's Update: April 2019

I am pleased to announce that Professor Bill Thomson has been elected by his peers for a three-year term as the Chair of Viscom (Visual Communications; formerly Applied Arts), and I would like to extend my appreciation to Professor John Nordyke who has served in the position for the past two terms. The chairs continue to play an important role in HAS faculty governance and leadership.


Last week we learned that Associate Professor Caroline Woolard has been awarded the Belle K. Ribicoff Junior Faculty Prize for 2019. The prize includes a cash award, and she will be eligible for the Ribicoff Professorship in three years. She also will be recognized on stage at the main commencement ceremony on May 19th.  


Alumnus Mark Dion '86 has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship and is opening an exhibition of eight outdoor works on May 4 at Storm King Sculpture Center in New York. This is the first exhibition to unite Dion’s signature folly works into a major survey.


Finally, alumna Judith McElhone '88 MFA '94, Executive Director of Five Points Gallery in Torrington, has been named an “Art Hero” by the Connecticut Office of the Arts. A celebration of all nine Art Heros will be held at Infinity Music Hall on May 1 at 6 p.m..


Congratulations to all!

Dean Nancy M. Stuart, Ph. D.