Distinguished Alumni
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Distinguished Alumni

Hillyer College is pleased to recognize the accomplishments of two of our alumni each year. The College presents the Distinguished Alumnus Award each year at Commencement. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions in their professional fields or in their communities. They stand as examples of the power of a core liberal arts education that each student of the College experiences. Every recipient indicates that the education grounding of the Hillyer experience has been the foundation of successes across the years.

The Outstanding Young Alumnus Award is presented in the Autumn of each year. Our first year students get to meet an individual who is closer in age to themselves. The purpose of this award is to recognize the achievements of a recent alumnus, but it is also intended to inspire first year students to achieve the full measure of their potential.

Nominations for candidates of either award are welcome. Please contact the Dean of the College with any requests at hillyer@hartford.edu.

Outstanding Young Alumnus AWARD

  • 2004: Carl Spardaro, CEO, Earthcore Industries
  • 2005: Doug Riahi, Managing Director, UniCredit Bank AG
  • 2006: Darius Mehri, Author
  • 2007: Keith Larit, Managing Director, Oppenheimer Funds & Co., Inc.
  • 2008: Chelsie Carswell-Cremona, Teacher
  • 2009: Julie Shiller, Social Worker
  • 2010: Bret O'Neal, Executive, Plugless
  • 2011: Elsa Chin, Vice President Global Philanthropy, JPMorgan Chase
  • 2012: Lon Seidman, Partner, Safety Zone
  • 2013: YaAdam Fye, President, Mhina Tumaini Foundation
  • 2014: Ebony Wright-Campbell, Social Worker, Good Shepherd Services
  • 2015: Stella Maris Ogwu, Physician
  • 2016: Wayne E. Chen, 2016, Investment Director, Strategic Ventures, Booz Alllen Hamilton
  • 2017: Kweyah Cook (McLemore), Senior Financial Analyst, OTIS/United Technologies Corporation

Distinguished AlumnUS AWARD

  • 2006: Henry Nozko, Jr., CEO, ACMAT Insurance
  • 2007: Perry Weitz, Founder, Weitz and Luxenberg
  • 2008: John C. Shaw, Managing Director, Resource Holding Ltd.
  • 2010: Thomas Carroll, Former CEO, TBWA Worldwide
  • 2011: Richard Tutino, Jr., Managing Director, Lazard Asset Management LLC
  • 2014: Rob Melick, Emmy Award Winner, Television Director
  • 2015: David Pritikin, Emmy Award Winner, Television Producer
  • 2016: Ken Vecchione, CEO, Western Alliance Bankcorp.
  • 2017: Joan Sittard, Manager of Implementation and Training, McCracken Financial Solutions
  • 2017: Walter Harrison, President Emeritus, University of Hartford