Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu



The Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate:

Awards and Nominations

This committee is responsible for choosing the recipients of the three awards: the Humphrey Tonkin Award for Scholarly and/or Artistic Creativity, the Roy E. Larsen Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Award for Sustained Service to the University of Hartford. It shall receive nominations and recommend candidates for each award to the University President. Normally the three award recipients from the prior academic year will be invited to serve on this committee.

The committee is also responsible for evaluating all projects and proposals submitted by faculty members seeking  Vincent B. Coffin grants. For these grants it shall recommend award in part or in whole the proceeds of the grant to that project (or projects) deemed the most worthy according to the guidelines set forth in the call for applications. Final awards shall be subject to administrative approval. Ideally this committee shall have a representative from each college.

The committee will also serve as the Nominations Committee for Faculty Senate. It will be responsible for the presentation of at least one set of candidates for all elective offices of the Faculty Senate. The committee will be responsible for identifying faculty to serve on university committees when requested. It is the responsibility of the committee to ensure that each candidate it presents is fully aware of the duties and obligations of that position.

Environmental and Sustainability

This committee serves as a forum for faculty, staff and students to learn and share about issues relating to the campus physicalenvironment, including long-range planning, research, and policies designed to meet campus sustainability. The chair of this committee will serve as the interface with other University committees focusing upon environmental issues.

  • The Student Government Association (SGA) will be asked to appoint a non-voting member.
  • A member of the University Facilities Department will be asked to join as a non-voting member.

Contact the Committee Chair


This committee shall consist of the Chair, the Vice-Chair, the Secretary, and chairs of task forces and committees designated by the officers of the Faculty Senate. The past Chair of Faculty Senate may be invited to be a member. Each senator may request to meet with the Executive Committee on specific issues. The purposes of this committee will be to plan and formulate, as needed, the agenda of the regular Faculty Senate meetings, to transact business of an emergency nature when it is not feasible to call a full Faculty Senate meeting, and to interact with the administration of the University on sensitive issues involving confidential information. The Executive Committee shall report in writing to the Faculty Senate on all its activities that do not become Faculty Senate agenda items.

Contact the Committee Chair

Faculty Affairs

This committee will promote the general professional development of both the full-time faculty and part-time and adjunct faculty (those hired under F3, G3 and F4 contracts). The committee will:

  • promote excellence in classroom teaching and professional creativity.
  • address the concerns of part-time and adjunct faculty.
  • consider changes in the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM).
  • consider changes to the Constitution and Bylaws of the Faculty Senate.
  • serve as a liaison to the American Association of University Professors (AAUP).

The chair of this committee will serve on the Part-time teaching award committee.

Contact the Committee Chair

Faculty Diversity

This committee shall advise the University on and make recommendations regarding issues of diversity (along the dimensions of race, ethnicity, disabilities, sexual orientation, and gender) in the academic life of the University. Typical activities of the Committee may include, but shall not be limited to, the following: 1) promote and advocate that the principles of diversity are incorporated into all faculty hiring and promotion decisions; 2) collect and monitor data to identify and promote best practices for faculty development, mentoring, and creation of a nurturing work environment in order to facilitate faculty success at all career levels; 3) promote dialogue within and across colleges regarding the inclusion of diverse perspectives in the curriculum; and 4) encourage the development of programs and events that address issues of diversity.

Contact the Committee Chair

Faculty Senate Curriculum

This committee is responsible to the Faculty Senate in matters of screening, evaluating, and originating policies pertaining to undergraduate and graduate study within the University. This committee will also monitor Special Topics offerings at all levels.

The Committee shall implement Article II of the Constitution with regard to curriculum and alert the Faculty Senate to any proliferation or duplication of courses. The Committee shall meet regularly to review current curricula and to discuss any proposed changes. Requests for course changes, new courses, program revisions, and new programs shall be reviewed by the Committee before coming to the Faculty Senate.

Contact the Committee Chair

Faculty Senate/Deans Joint

This committee shall serve as the communication link between the Faculty Senate and the academic deans. The committee will consist of the Chair of the Faculty Senate or his/her representative, the Vice-Chair, and the Secretary.

Student Affairs

This committee is concerned with policies affecting students, both academically and otherwise, at the University of Hartford and with the procedures and regulations for implementing these policies. Matters having to do with the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures are within the province of this committee. The committee shall serve as the communication link between the Faculty Senate, the Student Government Association, the Administration, and the Vice President for Student Affairs.

The committee will administer the University Scholars Program. This includes:

  • announcing and circulating information about the program
  • judging each individual application for the program, considering the feasibility and promise of the proposed project as well as the qualifications of the candidate
  • being present at the final presentation judged by the "master professor" and two additional examiners from the relevant department or departments.

The Student Government Association (SGA) will be asked to appoint a non-voting member.

Contact the Committee Chair