Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Breadth Categories

All students in baccalaureate programs at the University are required to take at least four All-University Curriculum (AUC) courses during their four years. Students are not required to complete the breadth category that is most closely associated with their major. 

Western Heritage

Learn the history, philosophy, literature, and art of Western culture and examine the development of social institutions, government, and politics.   Read more.


Other Cultures

Develop cultural empathy: the ability to understand different cultures and to appreciate rich and important lives.   Read more.



Engage the imagination, foster alternative ways of thinking, enlarge and refine artistic perception, and encourage participation in the arts.  Read more.


Social Context

Comprehend individual needs and behaviors, group relationships and processes, and the evolution and nature of institutions.  Read more.


Science and Technology

Seek to develop a greater awareness of science and technology and their impact on society.  Read more.