Music Faculty
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Music Faculty

Learn about the dynamic music faculty of The Hartt School. Hartt's faculty perform, teach, and present all over the country and around the world. They are renowned performers, exceptional scholars, dedicated teachers, and generous mentors who inspire their students to achieve at the highest levels.


James Jackson IIISenior Artist Teacher of
David WakefieldSenior Artist Teacher of French
Barbara HillArtist Teacher of French
Haim AvitsurAssociate Professor of
Phil SnedecorAssociate Professor of
Scott MendokerSenior Artist Teacher of


Robert CarlProgram Chair of Composition, Professor of Composition and
David MacbrideProfessor of Composition and Music
Larry Alan SmithProfessor of Composition, Curator of Garmany Chamber Music
Ken SteenProfessor of Composition and Theory, Co- Division Director, Academic and Contemporary


Glen AdsitProfessor, Director of
Ed BolkovacPrimrose Fuller Professor of Choral
Edward CummingAssociate Professor, Primrose Fuller Professor of Orchestral
James Jackson IIISenior Artist Teacher, Conductor of Symphony
Doris Lang KosloffAssociate in Voice (Division Director, Vocal Studies)
Gary L. PartridgeSenior Artist Teacher, Conductor of Capitol Winds 

Guitar & Harp

Christopher LaddAssociate in Music and Guitar, Program Chair of Guitar and
Richard ProvostProfessor Emeritus of
Susan Knapp ThomasArtist Teacher of

Jackie McLean Institute of Jazz

Abraham BurtonSenior Artist Teacher of Jazz
Christopher CaseySenior Artist Teacher, Director of Big
Steve DavisAssociate in Music of Jazz
Matt DeChamplainArtist Teacher of Select Topics in
Rick GermansonSenior Artist Teacher of Jazz
Rich GoldsteinSenior Artist Teacher of Jazz
Freddie HendrixSenior Artist Teacher Jazz
Javon JacksonProfessor of Jazz Saxophone, Division Director of the Jackie McLean Institute of
John MastroianniSenior Artist
René McLeanPrincipal Artist Teacher of Jazz
Eric McPhersonSenior Artist Teacher of Jazz
Shawnn MonteiroSenior Artist Teacher of Jazz
Nat ReevesAssociate in Music of Jazz Double
Jason TiemannSenior Artist
Peter WoodardAssociate Professor of Jazz Piano and Piano


Gregory BabalAssistant Professor,
Luiz de Moura CastroProfessor of
Edward ClarkArtist Teacher of Harpsichord 
Margreet Pfeifer FrancisAssistant Professor of Piano; Program Chair; Hartt Community
Barbara JohnsonArtist Teacher of
Phillip KawinArtist Teacher of Piano 
Kamilla MammedovaArtist
Paul RutmanProfessor of
David WestfallDirector, Instrumental Studies Division; Associate Professor of 

Music Education

Vanessa L. BondAssistant Professor of Music
Julie HagenAssistant Professor of Choral Music Education 
Dee HansenProfessor of Music Education; Director of Graduate
Warren HastonAssociate Professor of Music
Joshua RussellAssociate Professor of Music Education, Division Director of Music

Music History

Ira BrausAssociate Professor of Music
Karen CookAssistant Professor of Music
Kenneth NottProfessor of Music History (Program Chair)
Thomas SchuttenhelmArtist

Music & Performing Arts Management

Mehmet DedeAssistant Professor of Music and Performing Arts
Lief EllisArtist Teacher; Manager, Performing Arts
Gabe HermanArtist Teacher; Assistant Director, Music Production and Technology (Interim Program Chair, Music and Performing Arts Management)

Music Production & Technology

Jim ChapdelaineArtist
Justin KurtzAssociate Professor of Music Production &
Gabe HermanArtist Teacher; Assistant Director, Music Production and Technology (Interim Chair, Music and Performing Arts Management)
Koby NelsonArtist Teacher and Recording Studio

Music Theory

David MacbrideProfessor of Composition and Music
Donna MenhartAssociate Professor of Ear Training, Director of Undergraduate
Patrick MillerAssociate Professor, Program Chair of Music Theory and Co- Division Director, Academic and Contemporary
Akane Mori Associate Professor of Music
Benjamin RauchArtist Teacher in Music
Michael SchianoAssociate Professor of Music
Kathryn SwansonArtist Teacher of Ear
Gabor ViraghAssociate Professor of Music
Katalin ViraghArtist Teacher of Music


Benjamin TothProfessor of
John AmiraSenior Artist Teacher of Percussion 
Rogerio BoccatoSenior Artist Teacher of
Joe GaleotaSenior Artist Teacher of Percussion 
Ted PiltzeckerSenior Artist Teacher of
Shane ShanahanSenior Artist Teacher of Percussion 


Robert BlackProfessor of Double
Melinda DaetschMusic Skills Specialist of
Terry KingSenior Artist Teacher of
Katie LansdalePrincipal Artist Teacher of
Steve LarsonSenior Artist Teacher of
Anton MillerProfessor of
Emlyn NgaiArtist Teacher of Violin and Early Music
Rita PorfirisAssociate Professor of
Mickey ReismanMusic Skills Specialist of
Mihai TetelAssociate Professor of


Teri EinfeldtMusic Skills Specialist of Suzuki


Robert Barefield Associate Professor of
Ed BolkovacPrimrose Fuller Professor of Choral
Cherie CaludaAssociate Professor of
Claude CorbeilSenior Artist
Michelle FiertekArtist
Kelly HorstedArtist
Sondra KellyArtist
Doris Lang KosloffAssociate in Voice (Division Director, Vocal Studies)
Maureen O’FlynnPrinciple Artist
Benjamin RauchArtist Teacher in Voice (Choirs)
Wayne RiveraAssociate in
Kyle SwannArtist
Eric TrudelArtist
Chai-Lun YuehArtist


Janet ArmsSenior Artist Teacher of
Curt BloodSenior Artist Teacher of
Yousun ChungSenior Artist Teacher of
Marc GoldbergSenior Artist Teacher of
Charles HuangArtist Teacher of
Carrie KoffmanAssistant Professor of
Ayako OshimaAssistant Professor of
Greig ShearerMusic Skills Specialist of