Storm Alert

Due to the potential of flooding, cars were to be moved from low-lying areas of lots C, D, E, F, and N-lot extension (as shown in pink on this map) by 11:59 p.m. Monday night. Cars should now be located in other locations on higher ground in these lots or in lot M (behind the Sports Center). If you need assistance, please contact Public Safety at 860.768.7985. Vehicles must be returned to assigned lots by 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 27.

Report of the President's Steering Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

July 13, 2021
Submitted By: President's Steering Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

President Woodward established the President’s Steering Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in August 2019. The Steering Committee’s charge is comprehensive and purposeful, reflecting the University’s goal of embedding diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout the University. The Steering Committee “is charged with the responsibility for leading, advocating, and assisting in the coordination (of) university-wide efforts to realize diversity initiatives and foster inclusive excellence.”  

Steering Committee members are appointed by the president. Faculty and staff serve two to three (2-3) year staggered terms and students for one year. Committee members are not selected to simply “represent” certain areas or constituencies, but rather are identified to afford the Committee the opportunity to utilize the wide array of skills and expertise that members bring to the work, and to benefit from the diversity of perspectives and experiences they possess. The Steering Committee holds monthly meetings, with additional full meetings or subgroups meetings, as needed.

The President’s Steering Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion submitted its first report to President Woodward on March 29, 2021. It was subsequently shared with the president’s Cabinet and with the chairs of the Faculty Senate and the Faculty Senate Diversity Committee.  The report is now posted on the DEI website

The report provides a description of the Steering Committee’s work and includes recommendations based on its work to date. The findings and recommendations included in the report serve as an opportunity to effect systemic change as we aspire to become a more equitable and inclusive campus community. 

The Steering Committee co-chairs are now meeting with key leaders across campus to discuss the recommendations contained in the report. They will continue to meet with offices and individuals working on implementing the recommendations for feedback and to help coordinate as needed.


President’s Steering Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Membership through May 2021


Christine Grant-Co-Chair

Jane Horvath-Co-Chair


Randi Ashton-Pritting-Staff

Tanya Bethea-Staff

Nate Carr-Student

Jen Conley-Staff

Courtney Davidson-Staff

Mike Davis-Staff

Elizabeth Dill-Staff

Jill Engel-Hellman-Staff

Natalie Durant-Staff

Susan Fitzgerald-Staff

Sarah Hartt-Faculty

Krista Hill-Faculty

Michael Kaselouskas-Staff

Nicole Kukerstewart-Staff

Kayon Morgan-Faculty

Michael Ormsby-Staff

Jayden Rameikas-Student

Tyson Rose-Faculty

Olga Sharp-Faculty

James Shattuck- Administration

T. Stores-Administration

Laura Whitney-Administration

Sahara Williams-Student

Ying Yu- Faculty-Faculty


Questions about the report and/or the work of the Steering Committee should be directed to Christine Grant ( and Jane Horvath (