2020 Outstanding Faculty Recognized

Excellent faculty make University of Hartford’s distinctive educational experience possible. Annually, awards of distinction are presented to faculty members. We are excited and pleased to announce our outstanding 2020 faculty award recipients.

The Humphrey Tonkin Award honors a full-time University faculty member for scholarly and/or artistic creativity. The award is named for former University President Humphrey Tonkin, who also is former director of the Presidents’ College.

The 2020 Humphrey Tonkin Award winner is Andrew Craft of the College of Arts and Sciences. His research may lead to hydrogen-powered vehicles in the future.

The Roy E. Larsen Award honors a full-time University faculty member for excellence in teaching and contributions to University life. The award, established in 1979, honors the memory of the late Roy E. Larsen, former president of Time, Inc., who was a passionate environmentalist and education advocate.

The 2020 Larsen Award winner is Nicholas Ealy of the College of Arts and Sciences. He pushes students to use critical thinking both inside and outside of the classroom, and they love it.

The Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Award honors a full-time University faculty member for sustained service to the University. Their son, President Emeritus Steven Joel Trachtenberg, established it in memory of Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg.

The 2020 Trachtenberg Award winner is Donald Jones in the College of Arts and Sciences. He has enhanced the University’s reputation by enhancing our Honors Program.

The Belle K. Ribicoff Junior Faculty Prize recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member who demonstrates combined excellence in teaching, scholarly or creative activity and service.

The 2020 Ribicoff Junior Faculty Prize recipient is Collen Munoz in the College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions. Her research is establishing the University as a research center for hydration science.

The Donald W. Davis University Interdisciplinary Studies (UIS) Award recognizes faculty members who are effective interdisciplinary teachers and scholars, have contributed to the UIS program as a whole, and advocates for interdisciplinary education.

The 2020 Davis Award co-recipients are Tatum Krause and Judith Kelly. They embody the spirit and purpose of interdisciplinary studies