Talented Hartford Art School Students Win Goldfarb Exhibition Purchase Prizes

February 11, 2020
Amanda Anderson and her winning photography
Amanda Anderson '20 with her winning photography.

Hartford Art School students Andrew Whitworth '20 and Amanda Anderson '20 are the winners of this year's Alexander A. Goldfarb Juried Student Exhibition. Whitworth and Anderson each received a $1,000 prize, and their artwork will become a part of the Goldfarb Memorial Collection, owned by the Hartford Art School and proudly displayed throughout the University public spaces.  

Anderson, a photography major, was honored for 148 Princeton Street, a digital photography and inkjet print project exploring her father's time in prison.

"This project is exploring his life during that time period that we, the individual, take for granted compared to a man that was locked up," Anderson explained. "The Purchase Prize allows me to start the conversation about young black men and the connection to the Department of Correction that has been created."

Whitworth was honored for Ninety-Eight Days, an installation that including headphones, vinyl lettering, and a data set. Whitworth translated their data set of "Time Spent" into sound, with each tone representing one hour of their life, categorized by time spent alone, time spent one-on-one, time spent two-on-one, or time spent with others.

I’m so thankful and grateful for all the opportunities I’ve had at this school and for the professors who have helped guide me along the way. My professors have always pushed me to create things that I am interested in, even if it’s not understood by everyone or by anyone right away. My professors have helped me expand on preexisting ideas and have helped me in manifesting those ideas into actual projects.

Andrew Whitworth '20, Purchase Prize Winner

Art by many other talented students is also on display in the Joseloff Gallery as part of the exhibition. These students are: 

Anneliese Adams, Maryam Aqdas, Danielle Arlotta, Abigail Baer, Sarah Baillargeon, Megan Bainbridge, Jumiya Bennett, Anna Blanco, Garrett Bodnar, Trae Brooks, Elizabeth Brown, Taylor Casey, Madison Cocchi, Christian Crowley, Sam Day, Isabella DeLuca, Megan Doyle, Lily Eckert, Ray Eisenbud, Jacqueline Flock, Christine Gallares, Caitlin Hoey, Maria Johnson, Clara Kim, Kim Ly, Evelyn Mtika, Naomi Nevo Ben Ari, Kristen Ortega, Michaela Ranniello, Gabrielle Raulinaitis, Lauren Ricci, Bella Rios, Delia Rondinelli, Sydney Samele, Federico Sarno, Samuel Swap, Rebecca Thibodeau, Caya Tull, and Jessica Vaughn.

Each year, an invited juror choses the art work to be displayed at the exhibition and then selects two winners of the $1,000 Purchase Prize. The 2020 juror was Namulen Bayarsaihan, director of education, The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum.

This exhibition and purchase prizes are funded in part by the Alexander A. Goldfarb Endowment Trust at HAS Endowment, Inc.

For Media Inquiries

Meagan Fazio