10 Alumni Honored with Anchor Awards

Anchor Award Winners 2023
Anchor Award Winners 2023

The University of Hartford honored 10 outstanding members of the alumni community with the annual Anchor Awards Oct. 20 during Hawktober Weekend.

The Anchor Awards are the University’s most prestigious alumni awards, established to recognize alums who have distinguished themselves by achieving the highest levels of professional and community accomplishments. The awards are stewarded by the Alumni Advisory Council with nominations solicited from the full University community annually.

This year’s recipients are Distinguished Alum, David G. Nord ’79 (Barney); Outstanding Alum: Early Career Professional, Jackson D. Olson ’20 (Barney) and Netanya “Nina” Nhatavong ’20 (ENHP); Outstanding Alum: Exceptional Professional Success, Carole P. Kunstadt ’73 (HAS), Kimberly “Kim” K. Goodwin M’00 (Barney), and Marlon E. Guild A’03 (Hillyer), ’05 (A&S); Posthumous Exceptional Professional Success, Karen S. Nobumoto Esq.; '73 (A&S); Outstanding Alum: Impact on Social Responsibility & Civic Engagement, Luella “Lu” D. Landis ’66, M’70 (ENHP) and Scott C. Jarzombek ’99 (ENHP); and Outstanding Alum: Impact on the University of Hartford Anchor Award, Jolie A. Rocke DMA; ’89 (Hartt).

The Distinguished Alum honor is awarded annually to an alum who embodies the highest caliber of personal and professional accomplishments, strength of character, and representation of our University values. The Outstanding Alum: Early Career Professional recognizes an alum whose demonstrated exceptional early career success and future potential. The Outstanding Alum: Exceptional Professional Success honor recognizes an alum whose career accomplishments are exceptional. The Outstanding Alum: Impact on Social Responsibility and Civic Engagement recognition is awarded to an alum whose professional success is rooted in bettering community and has made significant and notable contributions in this space. The Outstanding Alum: Impact on the University of Hartford Anchor Award goes to an alum who has had a remarkable impact on the University through their philanthropic support and/or service.

For Media Inquiries

Molly Polk