Keeping Hawks Healthy

See UHart’s fall opening plan and our response to COVID-19:

#renderEmergencyWidget( $widget )
Success Stories

Hartt Alumni win 2018 Tony Awards

May 10, 2019

The Tony Awards recognize excellence in Broadway theatre. Being nominated is an honor and winning is a high career achievement. The University’s performing arts conservatory The Hartt School was well represented at the 2018 Tony Awards by alumni across many different disciplines. 

Orin Wolf ’01, who earned his degree in Actor Training here, is Lead Producer of The Band Visit that won 10 Tony Awards including Best Musical, two leading acting awards, Best Score, and Best Director.

Philip Boykin ’95, earned his degree in Voice Performance at Hartt. He is a principal cast member in Once on This Island that won the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical.

Hartt alumni at the 2018 Tony Awards have varied academic disciplines and years of experience.

Mean Girls and Sponge Bob Square Pants tied for most Tony nominations this year with 12 each and Hartt is represented in both. John Clancy earned his degree in Composition in 1996 and was nominated for Best Orchestration in Mean Girls. Also in that show, Percussion Performance major Shane Shanahan ’98 plays percussion in the Mean Girls pit and 2014 Music Theatre major Riza Takahashi is in the ensemble. She performed with the ensemble cast on the Tony Award broadcast. Another Percussion Performance major, Mike Dobson ’05, was nominated for Best Sound Design of a Musical for Sponge Bob Square Pants.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child won six Tony Awards including Best Play. Joey LaBrasca, a member of that cast, attended Hartt for a year before he landed his current Broadway role.