First UHart Undergraduate Nursing Students Inducted Into Honor Society

January 26, 2023
Submitted By: Mary DiLeo

Members of the University of Hartford’s first undergraduate nursing class were inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing on Jan. 22, along with a group of master’s students and faculty.

In total, 21 students were inducted into the honor society, with 13 from the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program and eight from the Master of Science in Nursing program. The BSN program started in 2019 and will graduate its first class in May.

The induction ceremony was held at Lincoln Theater and included nursing students from Central Connecticut State University and the University of St. Joseph, which comprise the local Iota Upsilon chapter of Sigma Theta Tau along with UHart.

To qualify for the honor society, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, rank in the top 35 percent of the graduating class, and demonstrate academic integrity, achievement, and leadership potential. 

“We are so proud of the accomplishments of these academically outstanding nursing students,” said Joyce Thielen, chair of the Nursing Department. “This is a significant milestone for our new BSN program as our students prepare to graduate and enter the nursing profession. We’re equally proud of our master’s students as they become nurse leaders and improve patient care and healthcare practices.”

Congratulations to the following students and their counselor, Valerie Whynall:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Caylee English

Pavanne Gleiman

Caroline Gwara

Ryan Hegney

Haley Josberger

Cassidy Lariviere

Nevaeh McKinney

Morgan Nugent

Sana Khan

Christina Lobianco

Samantha Nagel

Samantha Novotny

Elizabeth Volpe


Master of Science in Nursing

Lauren Dugger

Michelle Masters

Shavon Russell

Sharelle Sorensen

Amela Sulejmanovic

Jennifer Travers

Jessica Bancroft Davis

Aimee Fucci


In addition to the students, four UHart nursing faculty were inducted into the honor society as Nurse Leaders:

Karen Braccialarghe, EdD, RN

Ashley Cote, MSN, RN

Kimberly Hekkala, DNP, RN

Monica Panaitisor, MSN, RN

President of the Iota Upsilon Chapter Catherine Thomas (left), with Nevaeh McKinney (right).

From left: Haley Josberger, Ryan Hegney, Cassidy Lariviere.

Nursing Department Chair Joyce Thielen (left), and Caylee English (right).

21 UHart nursing students were inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau nursing honor society.