Three HAS Students Win Top Honors in AIGA CT Creative Scholarship

April 03, 2023
Submitted By: Office of Marketing and Communication

Three Hartford Art School students were recently selected as the winners of the 2023 AIGA CT Creative Scholarship. The students, all juniors at HAS, are Carly Bonansinga, Rena Choi, and Jordyn Brousseau. All are majors in Visual Communication Design (VCD), while Jordyn will also have a minor in Biology.

This prestigious award rewards undergraduate students who produce exceptional work at university art and design programs across Connecticut. Occasionally, a HAS student has been among those selected for Honorable Mention, but this is the first time all three students shared the judge’s top choices for the scholarship.

AIGA, the professional association for design, is a national design organization with chapters all over the country. AIGA is committed to furthering excellence in design as a broadly defined discipline, strategic tool for business, and cultural force. The Connecticut chapter’s mission is to champion, inspire and activate the Connective creative community, which is evident through the recent scholarship opportunity.

The process of applying for the scholarship can be a valuable tool for students, as it can also lead to connections that further one’s career goals. Each application includes a review of original artwork, a letter of reference, as well as an essay. The ability to communicate effectively and persuasively, as well as showcasing one’s creativity and design perspectives were all factors in the selection. 

In the announcement, AIGA Connecticut wroteWe are excited to see how these talented designers will use their skills to make a positive impact on the world of design.” This is a tremendous honor for the student winners, but also for the VCD department as well as HAS.  Faculty members John Nordyke, Andrew Wollner, Kevin Sepe, Cynthia Lau, Bahador Pazoki, and Michael Scricco were elated, all echoing a collective "Congratulations…wow!"