College of Arts and Sciences Presents Staff, Faculty, and Alumni Awards

March 30, 2022
Submitted By: Mary Ingarra

The College of Arts and Sciences held an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 29, to honor the 2021-22 recipients of The Barbara Cooke Staff Appreciation Awards, Outstanding Faculty Awards, and Board of Advisors Alumni Awards.

Read more about the following award recipients on the A&S Awards webpage.

Barbara Cooke Staff Appreciation Awards recognize leadership, competency, enthusiasm, dedication, and a positive attitude in interactions with others: 

Sean Congdon, Laboratory Supervisor, Department of Biology

Zachary Haines, Media Laboratory Supervisor, School of Communication

Karen Schermerhorn, Academic Support Specialist, School of Communication


Outstanding Faculty Awards recognize extraordinary achievements and outstanding contributions in any of or all three categories: teaching, scholarship/professional productivity, and/or service:

Susan Grantham, PhD, Professor of Communication

Aime Levesque, PhD, Associate Professor and Department Chair of Biology

Hashini Mohottala, PhD, Associate Professor of Physics


Board of Advisors Alumni Awards celebrate the value of a liberal arts education and recognize the significant achievements of Arts and Sciences alumni who make a difference in their profession and/or their community:

Thomas Carroll ‘79, Founder and CEO, Brand Equity Ventures

Tangie McDougald ’11, CEO and Founder, Community Matters, LLC

Pedro Segarra ’81, Workers’ Compensation Commissioner