Sundeep Muppidi Named Winner of Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Award for Sustained Service to the University

May 03, 2021
Submitted By: Office of Marketing and Communication
Photo of Sundeep Muppidi
Sundeep R. Muppidi, professor of Communication in the College of Arts and Sciences, is the 2021 recipient of the Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Award for Sustained Service to the University.

The award honors a full-time faculty member for sustained and exemplary service to the University. 

Since 1998, Muppidi has generously served his students, colleagues, and the University as an outstanding teacher and mentor, a productive scholar, and a tireless and selfless administrator. 

Arriving at the School of Communication as an assistant professor, Muppidi has a sustained record of excellence in teaching and scholarship through his terms as a member of the Multimedia Web Design and Development faculty from 2001 to 2010 and as an associate professor from 2004 to 2014. He is one of the few faculty members teaching both traditional studies courses such as new media and international communication, as well as production courses in television and multimedia production. 

In addition to his innovative teaching and mentoring, Muppidi’s vision and work ethic have earned him increasingly responsible administrative duties, beginning as director of Graduate Studies in the School of Communication, then as director of the School of Communication, then as associate dean for Academic Planning and Curriculum in the College of Arts and Sciences. He is currently special assistant to the provost for strategic initiatives and chair of the Institutional Review Board. 

Particularly impressive, as Katherine Black, dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, notes, is the sheer amount of service Muppidi has devoted to the University for more than 20 years. His select list of contributions includes an astonishing 63 committee assignments, ranging from membership on the President's Council to chair of the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) Standard IX Committee on reaccreditation to the Faculty Senate.