Three Faculty and Staff Receive 2023 Laura Johnson Leadership Awards

May 05, 2023
Submitted By: The Women's Advancement Initiative

The Women’s Advancement Initiative’s Board of Directors is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Laura Johnson Leadership Awards. These awards are presented to women faculty and staff who honor the spirit of Laura Johnson, the third dean and first president of Hartford College for Women. Laura Johnson was known for her vision, leadership, and empowerment of others. The 2023 Laura Johnson Leadership Award recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and a gift card to be used for professional development or instructional supplies.

2023 Laura Johnson Leadership Awardees
  • Dawn Ennis, Part-Time Communication Faculty and Podcast Studio Manager
  • Laura Pence, Professor of Chemistry
  • Beth Richards, Director of First- and Second-Year Writing and Associate Clinical Professor of Writing

Since 2008, the Laura Johnson Leaders program has provided leadership and professional development training to nine cohorts of women faculty and staff. This dynamic two-year program builds community and encourages participants to engage in professional, campus, or personal development projects. Session topics include: “Leadership During Challenging Times,” “Developing an Inclusive Organization Culture,” “7 Habits of Highly Effective People,” “Open to Opportunity: Advancing Your Professional and Personal Potential,” “Leading with Your Strengths,” and “What’s Your Story: The Power of Internal Narrative and External Success.” To date, 144 faculty and staff have participated from across the University, and more than 20 percent have gone on to advanced leadership roles.

The Women’s Advancement Initiative congratulates the 2023 Laura Johnson Leadership awardees. If you are interested in applying to the 2024-2026 program cohort, please email or stay tuned for a call for applications in spring 2024.