Hartt Alumna Dionne Warwick Recipient of 2023 Kennedy Center Honors

July 07, 2023
Submitted By: Office of Marketing and Communication

One of The Hartt School’s most recognizable names—and one of the most celebrated vocalists of all time—is now receiving another honor. Dionne Warwick will receive the Kennedy Center Honors, an award for lifetime artistic achievement. Warwick will join actor and comedian Billy Crystal; celebrated soprano Renée Fleming; singer-songwriter and Bee Gees band member Barry Gibb; and actress, singer, and rapper Queen Latifah.

Warwick attended The Hartt School beginning in 1959, but her early success as a singer catapulted her to fame early on; she later received her honorary degree in 1986 from Hartt. Warwick ranks among the 40 biggest U.S. hit makers, and one of the most charted vocalists of all time, with 56 of her singles making Billboard’s Hot 100 between 1962 and 1998. During her career, Warwick has sold more than 100 million records worldwide and she has won many awards, including six Grammy Awards. Throughout her career, Warwick has sold more than 100 million records worldwide, and her many awards include six Grammy Awards. Three of her songs ("Walk On By", "Alfie" and "Don't Make Me Over") have been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. Warwick has been inducted into the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Grammy Hall of Fame, the R&B Music Hall of Fame, and the Apollo Theater Walk of Fame. In 2019 she won the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter said in a statement that the honorees each "explored new terrain, stretched artistic boundaries, and most importantly, committed to sharing their gifts with the world."Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein wrote that Warwick recorded "a trove of hits that has become a soundtrack of inspiration for generations of artists and audiences."

The awards will air on CBS and stream on Paramount+ on Dec. 27. They will be hosted by singer and 2017 honoree Gloria Estefan. More information about the event and the honorees can be found via the Kennedy Center.