Keeping Hawks Healthy

See UHart’s fall opening plan and our response to COVID-19:

#renderEmergencyWidget( $widget )

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Julius Hartt Musical Foundation works to develop and maintain the professional quality of The Hartt School. The Board financially supports the School and acts as an advocate for the School’s interests.

Board of Trustees


Larry Alan Smith (ex officio); President of the Hartt Musical Foundation Inc.; Dean, The Hartt School

Tracy L. Flater, Chair; Co-Founder and Executive Director, Playhouse Theatre Group, Inc.

Jeffrey Hoffman, First Vice-Chair; Co-Chair Hoffman Auto Group

Sharon Pope, Second Vice-Chair; Special Counsel, Czepiga Daly Pope

Cat Arsenault, Secretary; Attorney and Hearing Officer, State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection


Julianna Cruz '14, Senior Marketing Strategist, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Steve Collins '89, Executive Director, Hartford Symphony Orchestra 

James R. Barry '80, Musical Director, St. James Episcopal Church of Glastonbury

Linda Solow Blotner

Marcos Carreras '95, MMEd'02, Music Teacher, Springfield Public Schools/Springfield Conservatory of The Arts

Jeffrey O. Cohen, Chief Physician Officer, Hartford HealthCare Medical Group

John P. Franzis '87

Harold Horwich, Partner, Morgan Lewis

Calida Jones MM'07, Director of Development & Advocacy, Project Music; Managing Partner, CNJ Associates

Cathy Lord '78, Collaborative Pianist, The Hartt School Community Division

Andrew Mayo MMEd'97, West Hartford Public Schools

Dave McLellan '76 P'11, Concert in Your Living Room, Founder

Scott Reeves '76, Archivist, Westminster School

Jonathan Reuning-Scherer, Senior Lecturer in Statistics, Yale University

John Soares, AVP Product Management, Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company

John Sunde, Interim President and CEO, St. Francis Healthcare Partners

Marie-Claire van Rooy

Ex Officio Trustees

Noah Blocker Glynn MM'15, Director, The Hartt School Community Division

Demaris (Dee) Hansen (music faculty representative), Professor of Music Education

Stephen Pier (dance faculty representative), Artistic Director and Professor of Dance

Alan Rust (theatre faculty representative), Artistic Director and Professor of Theatre

Larry Alan Smith, President of The Hartt Musical Foundation, Inc.; Dean

Honorary Trustees

Rhoda Chase, Life Regent

Nancy S. Compton '55

Barbara O. David

Jennifer K. Eio

Tony Falcetti

Joan Geeter PhD, LMFT

Francine Goldfarb

Morton E. Handel (Hon. '02), Life Regent

Barbara S. Klau

Margaret W. Lawson

Peggy Lyman Hayes ’06 (Hon. ’11)

Steven Metcalf '70

Susan L. Miller

Donald W. Osborne '77

Philip Streifer '71

Douglas M. Thomas

Dionne Warwick (Hon. '86)

Hartt Hall of Fame


The Hartt Hall of Fame recognizes and honors the accomplishments of individuals associated with The Hartt School who have helped in significant ways to further the mission of the School and showcase the best of the School to external audiences.

The Hall of Fame Award expands the ability to recognize significant members of the Hartt Community. Two other Hartt Awards continued to be offered:

  • The Hartt Alumni Award: Since 1959, this annual award recognizes an outstanding alumnus/alumna. This award is presented during the Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony each May.
  • The Fuller Medal: The highest award conveyed by The Hartt School as determined by The Julius Hartt Foundation Board of Trustees, and awarded to those who have shown exemplary vision and leadership within the performing arts.

Nominations are being accepted for the Class of 2020. Please submit your nomination to

A Ceremony on Thursday, April 30, at 12:15 will be held to induct the current class of nominees.

Process and Eligibility


Any supporter, advocate, benefactor, or other individual tied to The Hartt School. This includes Hartt graduate, non-degree Hartt alumni, volunteer, donor, former board member of the Julius Hartt Foundation, Community Division student or parent, and faculty or staff member (current or past).

Individuals are deemed qualified for induction when the Board of The Julius Hartt Foundation makes that determination.

Selection Criteria

Primary mission-driven criteria

  • Contributing to the awareness, image, and success of The Hartt School (College or Community Division)
  • Contributing to the academic and artistic success of Hartt through artistic and/or performance success, pedagogical success, public relations efforts, etc.
  • Demonstrated leadership (e.g., titles, Board membership) in other aspects of their field

Secondary criteria

  • Using skills and knowledge acquired at The Hartt School to make a difference in their lives and their professions
  • History of giving back (time, talent and treasure) to The Hartt School and/or the University of Hartford
  • Other criteria to be determined by the Hartt Board
  • Individual is not serving on the Hartt Board at the time of his/her induction. Honorary Board members are eligible.

Process for Nominating & Electing Members

Each year, The Hartt Board’s Alumni Committee shall call for nominations to The Hartt School Hall of Fame.

Nominations are solicited from current Board members, faculty, administration, and Hartt alumni.  Anyone associated with The Hartt School may nominate a prospective candidate for The Hartt School Hall of Fame.

The nominator may present whatever information he/she would like in support of the nominee and this submission criteria is flexible.  Documentation could include CV/resume, professional bio, list of awards, record of board service, record of teaching, etc.

Typically, 4-7 “finalists” will be presented each year to the full Hartt Board.  The Board shall vote on whom it feels deserves inclusion into The Hartt School Hall of Fame with the anticipation that 2-4 people will be chosen for induction each year. 

The Dean or a Trustee shall contact the inductees to confirm that they will accept the honor.

Past Recipients

Class of 2017-2018

Class of 2018-2019

  • Ethel Bacon
  • Alexander Lepak
  • Enid Lynn
  • Pauline (Dottie) Paranov
  • Louis Pelletteri


The Class of 2017-2018 — November 30, 2017

Class of 2018-2019 — May 2, 2019