Four Faculty and Staff Receive 2022 Laura Johnson Leadership Awards

May 06, 2022
Submitted By: Dina Morris Lyga, The Women's Advancement Initiative

The Women’s Advancement Initiative’s Board of Directors is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Laura Johnson Leadership Awards. These awards are presented to women faculty and staff who honor the spirit of Laura Johnson, third dean and first president of Hartford College for Women. Laura Johnson was known for her vision, leadership, and empowerment of others. The 2022 Laura Johnson Leadership Award recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and a gift card to be used for professional development or instructional supplies.

2022 Laura Johnson Leadership Awardees

  • Meaghan Murphy-Rennie, Assistant Director of Education Abroad
  • T. Stores, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Margaret Tarampi, Assistant Professor of Psychology, A&S
  • Stacie Wentz, Head Men's and Women's Cross Country/Track & Field Coach, Athletics

Since 2008, the Laura Johnson Leaders program has provided leadership and professional development training to eight cohorts of women faculty and staff. This dynamic two-year program builds community and encourages participants to engage in professional, campus or personal development projects. Session topics include: “Leadership During Challenging Times,” “Developing Inclusive and Resilient Leaders,” “7 Habits of Highly Effective People,” “Communicating with Confidence,” “Reaching Your Professional and Personal Potential,” “Leading with Your Strengths,” “Financial Management,” “Negotiation and Conflict Resolution,” and “Appreciating Your Journey in Authentic Leadership.” To date, 126 faculty and staff have participated from across the University, and more than 20 percent have gone on to advanced leadership roles.

The Women’s Advancement Initiative congratulates the 2022 Laura Johnson Leadership awardees. If you are interested in applying to the 2022–2024 program cohort, please email or apply today. The priority application deadline is June 12, 2022.