Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is a select group of senior community leaders from a broad range of education- and health-related organizations and institutions. These individuals are not employed by the college but guide, advise, and support the administration in furthering the college’s overall strategic interests and directions.

Learn more about getting involved with the ENHP Board of Visitors by contacting Dean Cesarina Thompson at

Current Board Members

Allan M. Hoffman, EdD, CHES - Chair (2022-2025)
Interim President
Mount Carmel College of Nursing

Sarah Barzee, C, PhD, ENHP '99
Senior Director of State Educational Services
Director, Region 2 Comprehensive Center
West Ed

Melissa Bavaro-Grande
Superintendent of Schools
East Granby Public Schools

Mark Benigni, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools
Meriden Public Schools

Peter R. Cordeau, MBA, BSN, RN
President & CEO
Norwalk Hospital (Nuvance Health)

Robert J. Krug, M.D.
VP for Medical Affairs, Advisory Group
Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital and Network

Gerald Lupacchino, M'92
Sr. VP, Human Experiences
Hartford HealthCare

Sharale W. Mathis, Ed.D
Vice President of Academic & Student Affairs
Holyoke Community College 

Anne McLaughlin, M.D.
Allergist/ Immunologist 
Deaconess Clinic 

James Michel
Chief Executive Officer
Access Health CT

Steve Minkler, Ed.D. ’08, M ’00
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Central Connecticut State University

Tim Nee
Montessori Training Center Northeast
Capitol Region Education Council

Steven J. Sigal
Retired - Formerly Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Health New England

Joan Sittard
Implementation & Training Manager
McCracken Financial Solutions Corp.

Eric Smullen
Sr. VP, Community Network, 
Hartford HealthCare

Lydia Tedone A'77 (HCW)
Connecticut Association of Boards of Education

Cesarina Thompson, PhD, RN, ANEF
College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions

Dianna Wentzell, Ed.D. ’11
Director of Clinical Education
University of St. Joseph

Lisa Zapatka, MSN, RN, NEA-BC   
Regional Chief Nursing Officer
Trinity Health of New England

Amanda Trothier 
Senior Development Officer, Development and Alumni Affairs 
University of Hartford 

Honorary Board Members

David Gordon '75
Vice President of Product and Product Development
Member, Board of Regents, University of Hartford

James L. Starr
Chief Financial Officer
Essence Healthcare

Edward Weinswig
Professor Emeritus
University of Hartford