Wellness and Health Clubs

Are you focusing on your physical and mental health? At the University of Hartford, you have many opportunities.

Join clubs like Spectrum, the Vegan Council, or Women for Change.

Connectivity

Connectivity is a peer education group who uses the arts to promote awareness of social issues. We are a theater ensemble focusing on awareness, discussion, prevention and acceptance. We address awareness on issues such as substance abuse, partner violence, sexual assault, LGBTQ issues, racism, sexism, etc. We promote bystander intervention as a key element of change.

Contact Information:
President: Rebecca Hanlon, hanlon@hartford.edu
Advisor: Gail Syring, syring@hartford.edu

Why should you join this organization?
We are a club that combines theater and social issues to bring awareness to the community.

Equestrian Club

Contact Information:
President: Erika Peterson, epeterson@hartford.edu
Advisor: Joanna Borucinska, borucisnk@hartford.edu

Free Flow

Club "Free Flow" is a club dedicated to spreading love, prosperity, knowledge and wellness to the students and faculty of the University of Hartford. "Free your love! Free yourself!

Meeting Times:
Tuesdays, 8 p.m. in Hawk Hall

Contact Information:
President: Maxx Gianni, giannilap@hartford.edu
Advisor: Sheila Garilli, garilli@hartford.edu

Why should you join this organization?
Help us spread kindness and giving to our community on campus!

Men AgainstRape & Sexual Assault (MARS)

The mission of the MARS Club is to educate and empower the male community at the University of Hartford to work as allies with W.A.R.S. (Women Against Rape Sexual-Assault) as well as assisting Public Safety in any way we can to prevent sexual crimes.

Contact Information:
President: Eric Miller, ermiller@hartford.edu
Advisor: Timothy Metcalfe, tmetcalfe@hartford.edu

Why should you join this organization?
Support our mission to end sexual violence.

Spectrum (LGBQT)

A safe, nonjudgmental environment for people of all sexual and gender identities: Spectrum is an organization for bisexual, pansexual, gay, lesbian, transgender, asexual, questioning students, and their allies. Meetings are open to all. Come support and be supported!

Contact Information:
President: Liam Ferguson, wferguson@hartford.edu
Advisor: Matt Blocker-Glynn, blocker@hartford.edu
Spectrum email: spectrum@hartford.edu

Why should you join this organization?
Don’t have time for weekly meetings? Come to the big events: AIDS week, Rainbowfest Dance, and the Rocky Horror Picture Show!

Women Against Rape & Sexual Assault (WARS)

Women Against Rape and Sexual Assault (WARS) is a safe haven for females, promoting female empowerment. They hold informational sessions on self-defense, and participate in community service activities, such as the breast cancer walk.

Contact Information:
Advisor: Jessica Abbot, abbot@hartford.edu

Why should you join this organization?
WARS also holds our annual passion party for females only, helping women to love and feel comfortable in their bodies.

Women for Change

The mission of the Women for Change Club is to provide space for education, open dialogue, and support among people of all ages, backgrounds, ethnicities, and sexual orientation surrounding issues of women’s bodies including feminism and sexuality.

Contact Information:
President: Elaysia Chambers, elchamber@hartford.edu
Advisor: Mala Matacin, matacin@hartford.edu

Why should you join this organization?
This group will promote bonds between women in society