Apply
Keeping Hawks Healthy

Read the latest updates on UHart's response to COVID-19: hartford.edu/healthy-hawks.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Officers

Chair:
Jerry Katrichis
Email:
katrichis@hartford.edu

Vice Chair:
Natalie Politikos
Email:
politikos@hartford.edu

Secretary:
Saeid Moslehpour
Email:
moslehpou@hartford.edu

The University of Hartford faculty senate is the primary faculty governing board and consists of faculty members from each college who serve as senators and represent their constituent faculty members. Among other responsibilities, the faculty senate oversees faculty input on faculty policies, academic procedures, and university curricula. The Senate convenes twice each month and subcommittees meet as required. Elections for Senators are held in April at the individual college’s faculty meeting.

About the Senate

The University of Hartford Faculty Senate is authorized in Part III, Article III Section 3 of the University's Charter and Bylaws as the only official faculty organization at the University. It actively engages 31 Faculty Senators representing all seven schools and colleges of the University. A faculty member who is full-time and has been in residence for a year or more is eligible to run for the Senate. Elections for three-year terms are held at each college's faculty meetings. There are 8 Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate, listed in the Senate Bylaws.

The Executive Committee of the Senate meets monthly, before the full Senate meeting, and sets the agenda. The Executive Committee is composed of the Senate Officers and Committee Chairs. The administration consults with Faculty Senate Executive members for advice and feedback on issues of concern.

In addition to its role in approving all curriculum changes, the Senate makes a major contribution to setting academic policies and procedures through its role in changing the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures (MAPP) and the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM). Changes to MAPP are initially approved by the Student Affairs Committee of the Senate for issues related to students, and by the Curriculum Committee for issues related to the curriculum review process. Changes to the FPM are initially approved by the Senate's Faculty Affairs committee. Proposed changes may be initiated by faculty or the Council of Deans.

These committees then present the proposals to the full Senate for review and approval. Should there be a disagreement about a proposal between the Senate and the Council of Deans, the proposal is then sent to the Faculty Senate/Deans Joint Committee, which includes the three Senate officers plus representatives of the Council of Deans, as appointed by the Provost. Changes approved by both the Council of Deans and the Faculty Senate must be approved by the Provost, the President, and the Executive Committee of the Board of  Regents before being enacted.

(Revised 5-10-07; 1-4-08; 8-1-08; 9-23-13; 5-23-14; 12-11-15, 2-13-19)

Contact the Faculty Senate

Phone: 860.768.4789
Email: facsenate@hartford.eduOffice location: Suite 314, Computer Center and Administration Building
Coordinator: Lydia Chiappetti
chiappett@hartford.edu

Faculty Senate Committee Members

Awards and Nominations

Committee Member College Position Email
Cavazos, Carmina Barney Non-Senator cavazos@hartford.edu
Certo, Catherine ENHP Non-senator certo@hartford.edu
Koffman, Carrie Hartt Chair koffman@hartford.edu
Nordyke, John HAS Senator nordyke@hartford.edu
Jacobs, Randy A&S Senator rjacobs@hartford.edu
Shertukde, Hemchandra CETA Senator shertukde@hartford.edu
Townsend, Rebecca
HIllyer
Non-Senator
townsend@hartford.edu

Curriculum

Committee Member College Position Email
Ghosh, Suhash CETA Senator ghosh@hartford.edu
Russell, Ingrid A&S Non-Senator irussell@hartford.edu
Moran, Linda Hillyer Senator lmoran@hartford.edu
Moore, Tracey Hartt Chair tmoore@hartford.edu
Oz, Onur Barney Senator oz@hartford.edu
Richard, Lucy ENHP Senator richard@hartford.edu
Williamson, Marisa HAS Senator mariwilli@hartford.edu

Environmental & Sustainability

Committee Member College Position Email
Davis, Steve Hartt Senator stedavis@hartford.edu
Firkatian, Mari Hillyer Chair firkatian@hartford.edu
Enzor, Laura A&S Senator enzor@hartford.edu
Britt, Tim CETA Senator britt@hartford.edu
Ranucci, Rebecca Barney Senator ranucci@hartford.edu
Gannotti, Mary ENHP Senator gannotti@hartford.edu
Vanegas, Roy A&S Non-Senator vanegas@hartford.edu
Wollner, Andy HAS Non-Senator wollner@hartford.edu
Student Name TBA SGA Student @hartford.edu

Faculty Affairs

Committee Member College Position Email
Porfiris, Rita Hartt Senator porfiris@hartford.edu
Major, Bill Hillyer Non-Senator major@hartford.edu
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Senator moslehpou@hartford.edu
Politikos, Natalie A&S Chair politikos@hartford.edu
Sumukadas, Narendar Barney Senator sumukadas@hartford.edu
HAS Non-Senator TBA HAS Non-Senator @hartford.edu
Roller, Dawn ENHP Senator roller@hartford.edu
Scribner, Scott Hillyer Senator scribner@hartford.edu

Diversity

Committee Member college Position Email
Hillyer Non-Senator TBA Hillyer Non-Senator @hartford.edu
Carey, Ellen HAS Non-Senator ecarey@hartford.edu
Dichiara, Al A&S Senator dichiara@hartford.edu
Hao, Andy Barney Non-Senator hao@hartford.edu
Hart, Sarah ENHP Senator sahart@harford.edu
Sawruk, Ted CETA Non-Senator sawruk@hartford.edu
Woodard, Peter Hartt Non-Senator pwoodard@hartford.edu
Sharp, Olga A&S Chair osharp@hartford.edu
Horvath, Jane A&S Non-Senator horvath@hartford.edu

Student Affairs

Committee Member College Position Email
Ashuntantang, Joyce Hillyer Non-Senator ashuntant@hartford.edu
Jagaiah, Thilagha ENHP Non-Senator Jagaiah, Thilagha
Lee, Hyunjung Barney Non-Senator hyulee@hartford.edu
Borucinska, Joanna A&S Senator borucinsk@hartford.edu
Slaboch, Paul CETA Senator slaboch@hartford.edu
Snedecor, Phil Hartt Senator snedecor@hartford.edu
Vahrenwald, Michael HAS Chair vahrenwal@hartford.edu
Student Name TBA SGA Student @hartford.edu

Executive Committee

Committee Member College Position Email
Sharp, Olga A&S Diversity Chair osharp@hartford.edu
Koffman, Carrie Hartt A&N Chair koffman@hartford.edu
Moore, Tracey Hartt Curriculum Chair trmoore@hartford.edu
Firkatian, Mari Hillyer Environmental & Sustainability Chair firkatian@hartford.edu
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Senate Chair katrichis@hartford.edu
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Secretary/Chair of Shared Governance Task Force moslehpou@hartford.edu
Pidano, Anne A&S Chair Emerita pidano@hartford.edu
Politikos, Natalie A&S Vice Chair/FA Chair politikos@hartford.edu
Richard, Lucy ENHP Task Force Chair richard@hartford.edu
Vahrenwald, Michael HAS SA Chair vahrenwal@hartford.edu

Senate/Deans Joint

Committee Member College Position Email
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Vice Chair moslehpou@hartford.edu
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Chair katrichis@hartford.edu
Politikos, Natalie A&S Vice Chair politikos@hartford.edu
Black, Katherine Admin Dean Rep kablack@hartford.edu
Goldenberg, David Admin Dean Rep goldenber@hartford.edu

Shared Governance Task Force

Committee Member College Position Email
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Senate Chair katrichis@hartford.edu
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Chair of Shared Governance moslehpou@hartford.edu
Politikos, Natalie A&S Vice Chair politikos@hatford.edu
Gannotti, Mary ENHP Senator gannotti@hartford.edu
TBA Hartt Non-Senator @hartford.edu
John Nordyke HAS Senator nordyke@hartford.edu
Scott Scribner Hillyer Senator scribner@hartford.edu