Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Officers

Chair: Anne E. Pidano
Email: pidano@hartford.edu

Vice Chair: Jonathan Daigle
Email: jdaigle@hartford.edu

Secretary: Michael Wininger
Email: wininger@hartford.edu

The University of Hartford faculty senate is the primary faculty governing board and consists of faculty members from each college who serve as senators and represent their constituent faculty members. Among other responsibilities, the faculty senate oversees faculty input on faculty policies, academic procedures, and university curricula. The Senate convenes twice each month and subcommittees meet as required. Elections for Senators are held in April at the individual college’s faculty meeting.

About the Senate

The University of Hartford Faculty Senate is authorized in Part III, Article III Section 3 of the University's Charter and Bylaws as the only official faculty organization at the University. It actively engages 31 Faculty Senators representing all seven schools and colleges of the University. A faculty member who is full-time and has been in residence for a year or more is eligible to run for the Senate. Elections for three-year terms are held at each college's faculty meetings. There are 8 Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate, listed in the Senate Bylaws.

The Executive Committee of the Senate meets monthly, before the full Senate meeting, and sets the agenda. The Executive Committee is composed of the Senate Officers and Committee Chairs. The administration consults with Faculty Senate Executive members for advice and feedback on issues of concern.

In addition to its role in approving all curriculum changes, the Senate makes a major contribution to setting academic policies and procedures through its role in changing the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures (MAPP) and the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM). Changes to MAPP are initially approved by the Student Affairs Committee of the Senate for issues related to students, and by the Curriculum Committee for issues related to the curriculum review process. Changes to the FPM are initially approved by the Senate's Faculty Affairs committee. Proposed changes may be initiated by faculty or the Council of Deans.

These committees then present the proposals to the full Senate for review and approval. Should there be a disagreement about a proposal between the Senate and the Council of Deans, the proposal is then sent to the Faculty Senate/Deans Joint Committee, which includes the three Senate officers plus representatives of the Council of Deans, as appointed by the Provost. Changes approved by both the Council of Deans and the Faculty Senate must be approved by the Provost, the President, and the Executive Committee of the Board of  Regents before being enacted.

(Revised 5-10-07; 1-4-08; 8-1-08; 9-23-13; 5-23-14; 12-11-15, 2-13-19)

Contact the Faculty Senate

Phone: 860.768.4475
Email: facsenate@hartford.edu
Office location: Suite 314, Computer Center and Administration Building
Coordinator: Lydia Chiappetti
chiappett@hartford.edu

Faculty Senate Committee Members

Awards and Nominations
Committee Member College Position Email
Ashuntantang, Joyce Hillyer Non-Senator ashuntant@hartford.edu
Dix, Doug ENHP Non-senator dix@hartford.edu
Haston, Warren Hartt Chair haston@hartford.edu
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Senator katrichis@hartford.edu
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Senator moslehpou@hartford.edu
Politikos, Natalie A&S Senator politikos@hartford.edu
Rogers, Annette Barney Non-senator arogers@hartford.edu
Curriculum
Committee Member College Position Email
Balco, Cat HAS Senator balco@hartford.edu
Daigle, Jon Hillyer Senator jdaigle@hartford.edu
Goodworth, Adam ENHP Senator goodworth@hartford.edu
Highberg, Nels A&S Chair highberg@hartford.edu
Rogers, Annette Barney Non-Senator arogers@hartford.edu
Schiano, Michael Hartt Non-Senator schiano@hartford.edu
Shertukde, Hemchandra CETA Non-Senator shertukde@hartford.edu
Environmental & Sustainability
Committee Member College Position Email
Borucinska, Joanna A&S Senator borucinsk@hartford.edu
Davis, Steve Hartt Senator stedavis@hartford.edu
Firkatian, Mari Hillyer Senator firkatian@hartford.edu
Holmes, Seth CETA Chair sholmes@hartford.edu
Horvath, Jane A&S Non-Senator horvath@hartford.edu
Oakes, Claudia ENHP Senator oakes@hartford.edu
Sumukadas, Narendar Barney Senator sumukadas@hartford.edu
Wollner, Andy HAS Senator wollner@hartford.edu
Lamoureux, Jacob SGA Non-Senator lamoureux@hartford.edu
Faculty Affairs
Committee Member College Position Email
Koffman, Carrie Hartt Senator koffman@hartford.edu
Major, Bill Hillyer Non-Senator major@hartford.edu
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Senator moslehpou@hartford.edu
Naoumova, Irina Barney Senator naoumova@hartford.edu
Politikos, Natalie A&S Senator politikos@hartford.edu
Tatoglu, Akin CETA Co-Chair tatoglu@hartford.edu
Walsh, Michael A&S Non-Senator mwalsh@hartford.edu
Wininger, Michael ENHP Co-Chair wininger@hartford.edu
Zawilinski, Lisa ENHP Non-Senator zawilinisk@hartford.edu
Faculty Diversity
Committee Member College Position Email
Cumming, Edward HAS Non-Senator ecumming@hartford.edu
Dichiara, Al A&S Chair dichiara@hartford.edu
Hart, Sarah ENHP Senator hart@harford.edu
Horvath, Jane A&S Non-Senator horvath@hartford.edu
Naoumova, Irina Barney Senator naoumova@hartford.edu
Sawruk, Ted CETA Non-Senator sawruk@hartford.edu
Sinche, Byran A&S Non-Senator sinche@hartford.edu
Woodard, Peter Hartt Senator pwoodard@hartford.edu
Student Affairs
Committee Member College Position Email
Ashuntantang, Joyce Hillyer Non-Senator ashuntant@hartford.edu
Comeforo, Kristin A&S Senator comeforo@hartford.edu
Gould, Larry A&S Senator lgould@hartford.edu
Lee, Daniel ENHP Non-Senator danilee@hartford.edu
Moore, Tracey Hartt Senator trmoore@hartford.edu
Oz, Onur Barney Senator oz@hartford.edu
Slaboch, Paul CETA Co-Chair slaboch@hartford.edu
Vahrenwald, Michael HAS Co-Chair vahrenwal@hartford.edu
Lamaita, John SGA Non-Senator Lamaita@hartford.edu
Executive Committee
Committee Member College Position Email
DiChiara, Al A&S Diveristy Chair dichiara@hartford.edu
Haston, Warren Hartt A&N Chair haston@hartford.edu
Highberg, Nels A&S Curriculum Chair highberg@hartford.edu
Holmes, Seth CETA E&S Chair sholmes@hartford.edu
Pidano, Anne A&S Senate Chair pidano@hartford.edu
Slaboch, Paul CETA SA Co-Chair slaboch@hartford.edu
Tatoglu, Akin CETA FA Co-Chair tatoglu@hartford.edu
Wininger, Michael ENHP FA Co-Chair wininger@hartford.edu
Vahrenwald, Michael HAS SA Co-Chair vahrenwal@hartford.edu
Senate/Deans Joint
Committee Member College Position Email
Daigle, Jon Hillyer Vice Chair jdaigle@hartford.edu
Pidano, Anne A&S Chair pidano@hartford.edu
Wininger, Michael ENHP Secretary wininger@hartford.edu
Black, Katherine Admin Dean Rep kablack@hartford.edu
Goldenberg, David Admin Dean Rep goldenber@hartford.edu