Vaccine Requirement

All UHart students must be vaccinated against COVID-19 by the fall. Students should submit vaccine information by Aug. 15. Learn more about the vaccine requirement

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Officers

Jerry Katrichis

Vice Chair:
Natalie Politikos

Tracey Moore

The University of Hartford faculty senate is the primary faculty governing board and consists of faculty members from each college who serve as senators and represent their constituent faculty members. Among other responsibilities, the faculty senate oversees faculty input on faculty policies, academic procedures, and university curricula. The Senate convenes twice each month and subcommittees meet as required. Elections for Senators are held in April at the individual college’s faculty meeting.

About the Senate

The University of Hartford Faculty Senate is authorized in Part III, Article III Section 3 of the University's Charter and Bylaws as the only official faculty organization at the University. It actively engages 30 Faculty Senators representing all seven schools and colleges of the University. A faculty member who is full-time and has been in residence for a year or more is eligible to run for the Senate. Elections for three-year terms are held at each college's faculty meetings. There are 9 Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate, listed in the Senate Bylaws.

The Executive Committee of the Senate meets monthly, before the full Senate meeting, and sets the agenda. The Executive Committee is composed of the Senate Officers and Committee Chairs. The administration consults with Faculty Senate Executive members for advice and feedback on issues of concern.

In addition to its role in approving all curriculum changes, the Senate makes a major contribution to setting academic policies and procedures through its role in changing the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures (MAPP) and the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM). Changes to MAPP are initially approved by the Student Affairs Committee of the Senate for issues related to students, and by the Curriculum Committee for issues related to the curriculum review process. Changes to the FPM are initially approved by the Senate's Faculty Affairs committee. Proposed changes may be initiated by faculty or the Council of Deans.

These committees then present the proposals to the full Senate for review and approval. Should there be a disagreement about a proposal between the Senate and the Council of Deans, the proposal is then sent to the Faculty Senate/Deans Joint Committee, which includes the three Senate officers plus representatives of the Council of Deans, as appointed by the Provost. Changes approved by both the Council of Deans and the Faculty Senate must be approved by the Provost, the President, and the Executive Committee of the Board of  Regents before being enacted.

(Revised 5-10-07; 1-4-08; 8-1-08; 9-23-13; 5-23-14; 12-11-15, 2-13-19)

Phone: 860.768.4789


Office location: Suite 314, Computer Center and Administration Building

Coordinator: Lydia Chiappetti

Arts & Sciences

Joanna Borucinska

Caryn Christensen

Abe Hefter

Randy Jacobs

Natalie Politikos

Olga Sharp

Roy Vanegas

Barney School of Business

Jerome Katrichis

Onur Oz

Rebecca Ranucci

Narendar Sumukadas

College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture (CETA)

Tim Britt

Saeid Moslehpour

Paul Slaboch

College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions (ENHP)

Paige Bray

Duffy Felmlee

Mary Gannotti

Dawn Roller

The Hartt School

Gabe HermanCarrie Koffman

Tracey MooreRita Porfiris

Phil Snedecor

Hartford Art School (HAS)

David Calabrese

John NordykeMarisa Williamson

Hillyer College

Mari Firkatian

LInda Moran

Scott Scribner

Staff Council

Rachel Yacouby

Faculty Senate Committee Members

Awards and Nominations

Committee Member College Position Email
Cavazos, Carmina Barney Non-Senator
Certo, Catherine ENHP Non-senator
Koffman, Carrie Hartt Chair
Carey, Ellen HAS Non-Senator
Jacobs, Randy A&S Senator
Shertukde, Hemchandra CETA Senator
Moran, Linda Hillyer Senator


Committee Member College Position Email
Bray, Paige ENHP Senator
Christensen, Caryn A&S Senator
Ghosh, Suhash CETA Non-Senator
Moore, Tracey Hartt Chair
Oz, Onur Barney Senator
Williamson, Marisa HAS Senator
TBD Hillyer Non-Senator

Environmental & Sustainability

Committee Member College Position Email
Hefter, Abe A&S Senator
Firkatian, Mari Hillyer Chair
Snedecor, Phil Hartt Senator
Britt, Tim CETA Senator
Ranucci, Rebecca Barney Senator
Gannotti, Mary ENHP Senator
Vanegas, Roy A&S Senator
Wollner, Andy HAS Non-Senator
Student Name TBA SGA Student

Faculty Affairs

Committee Member College Position Email
Porfiris, Rita Hartt Senator
Major, Bill Hillyer Non-Senator
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Senator
Politikos, Natalie A&S Chair
Sumukadas, Narendar Barney Senator
Calabrese, David HAS Senator
Roller, Dawn ENHP Senator
Scribner, Scott Hillyer Senator


Committee Member college Position Email
Townsend, Rebecca Hillyer Non-Senator
Carey, Ellen HAS Non-Senator
Hao, Andy Barney Non-Senator
Felmlee, Duffy ENHP Senator
Sawruk, Ted CETA Non-Senator
Herman, Gabe Hartt Senator
Sharp, Olga A&S Chair
Horvath, Jane A&S Non-Senator

Student Affairs

Committee Member College Position Email
Ashuntantang, Joyce Hillyer Non-Senator
Jagaiah, Thilagha ENHP Non-Senator
Lee, Hyunjung Barney Non-Senator
Borucinska, Joanna A&S Senator
Slaboch, Paul CETA Senator
Snedecor, Phil Hartt Senator
Nordyke, John HAS Chair
Student Name TBA SGA Student

Executive Committee

Committee Member College Position Email
Sharp, Olga A&S Diversity Chair
Koffman, Carrie Hartt A&N Chair
Moore, Tracey Hartt Secretary/Curriculum Chair
Firkatian, Mari Hillyer Environmental & Sustainability Chair
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Senate Chair
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Chair of Shared Governance Task Force
Pidano, Anne A&S Chair Emerita
Politikos, Natalie A&S Vice Chair/FA Chair
Gannotti, Mary ENHP AAUP Task Force Chair
Nordyke, John HAS SA Chair

Senate/Deans Joint

Committee Member College Position Email
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Task Force Chair
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Chair
Politikos, Natalie A&S Vice Chair
Thompson, Cesarina ENHP Dean Rep Dean Rep
Goldenberg, David Admin Hillyer Dean Rep

Shared Governance Task Force

Committee Member College Position Email
Katrichis, Jerry Barney Senate Chair
Moslehpour, Saeid CETA Chair of Shared Governance
Politikos, Natalie A&S Vice Chair
Gannotti, Mary ENHP Senator
TBA Hartt Non-Senator
Boothe, Power HAS Non-Senator
Scott Scribner Hillyer Senator